Muffins!

I was looking in my baby food cook book recently and noticed that there were several recipes for muffins for 12-18 month old babies. Since I love muffins, I thought I’d make some and see how Sweet Potato likes them. She loves them! And they’re so convenient!  I have been giving her about a half a muffin for breakfast, along with eggs, avocado, berries, or greek yogurt mixed with baby-food fruit, and using something as convenient as a pre-made muffin really speeds up breakfast prep time. I often give her the other half of the muffin later in the day.  Sweet Potato sometimes picks up the muffin and takes bites, and sometimes picks crumb size chunks or raisins out of the muffin to put into her mouth. She seems to really enjoy eating like a big girl!

Sweet Potato likes muffins

SP was not interested in using a spoon to eat chocolate pudding.

Here is one of my favorite muffin recipes. I often make these for my husband, and sometimes for myself.  If I’m making them for Hubby, I use oat bran and chocolate chips, and if I make them for Sweet Potato, I’ll use whichever bran is convenient and raisins.  When I first made these for Hubby, I used oat bran because it’s white like flour, and he couldn’t tell that they were healthy. I’m a sneaky cook like that.

Bran muffins

Makes 24 muffins

  • 2 1/2 cups bran (oat or wheat)
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2/3 cup (or less) sugar
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2-1 tsp cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 eggs (I like to use omega-3 eggs)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 Tbs oil
  • 1 tps vanilla
  • 1 cup chocolate chips or raisins

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray 2 muffin pans with non-stick spray.

Mix the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Mix the wet ingredients in a large measuring cup using a whisk.  Mix the wet into the dry, just until combined, then mix in the chocolate chips or raisins.  Scoop into muffin pans using an ice cream scoop. Bake for 20 minutes, let cool in pans for 5 minutes, then take the muffins out of the pans and cool completely.

A scoop keeps the muffins equal in size, and limits the mess.

I like to freeze these in packs of 4-5 for later use.  They’re not too much trouble to make, but making a lot ahead of time makes them super convenient for breakfasts and snacks. Each muffin has 160 calories, 27g total carbs, 4g protein, 6g fat.

Muffins make a tasty breakfast or snack.

One thought on “Muffins!

Leave a Reply

