Foods we’ve been eating lately

Lately I’ve been making lots of bread products. One recipe I’ve made is Anadama bread using my bread machine. Here’s the recipe:

  • 8.5 fl oz water
  • 4 T molasses
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup bread flour
  • 1/2 cup corn meal
  • 1-2 Tbs vital wheat gluten (you can skip this and use ww bread flour, but my loaf still fell when I did)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbs butter
  • 1 tsp yeast

Combine in bread machine according to your machine’s directions (mine has you put in the liquid stuff first, then pile the flour etc on top of it.)  You may need to add a little more water during the initial mixing phase.  Bake on whole wheat setting. This makes a 2 lb loaf. I have to set my machine to “light crust” otherwise it’s too dark.

initial mixing of Anadama bread

Initial kneeding of bread

Finished Anadama bread

Sweet Potato enjoying her fresh bread

I have also been making whole wheat pancakes a lot. These keep really well in the fridge, and unlike muffins and bread, they are not particularly crumbly, so they make for a little easier clean up. Sweet Potato really likes them a lot, too. I have noticed that I can replace 100% of the AP flour with WW and I still like the texture- it’s not too dense.

Another thing I’ve been doing is figuring out what to put all my chard and kale into. I have it growing in the garden, so I feel obliged to do something with it.  There is nothing that motivates me more to eat more greens than to have them growing right outside. So one thing I did was throw about 3 cups into my regular beans and rice recipe. Some of the bites I took of my burrito were a little green tasting, but on the whole it was a great way to use the kale, and not a bad way to add some nutrition to one of our favorite meals. Sweet potato really likes it too- including the kale!

Another thing I did was come up with a chard manicotti recipe.  I sauteed the chard (about a “bunch” I’d guess) along with some garlic and onions, then mixed that with 1 cup cottage cheese, 1 cup mozzarella, an egg, and fresh parsley and oregano. I also grated in some nutmeg, which really made it delicious.  I then filled manicotti shells with this mixture, and laid them into a 13 x 9″ pan. I had put a little red sauce (which I made from canned tomatoes and fresh herbs) on the bottom of the pan, then poured the rest over the top of the pasta. I sprinkled on a little cheese to make it pretty, and baked it at 400 for 30 minutes.  The egg helped the cheese mixture set up nicely, and the fresh herbs made it delicious.  What a great way to enjoy my garden bounty!

Cheesy Chard Manicotti

One manicotti was just right to feed Sweet Potato.

Leave a Reply

