Picky eaters

I know a lot of moms who think that their kids are picky eaters, and they all have a somewhat different way for dealing with the problem. Since I haven’t had this problem (yet! I’m sure it’s coming!), I don’t have a lot to offer as far as personal experiental advice. However, I have read a bit about how to deal with it, and this is a good article I came across recently that gets the main thrust of all the RD advice I’ve heard.  When you look at the rules Ms. Wallace offers, it takes the stress off. Parents, just offer your kids healthy foods, at regular times, and keep the stress level low. Give your child the opportunity to decide the rest.  Ellyn Satter calls this “division of responsibility in eating” and also says to also offer something like bread or rice at each meal- something that you know your child will like even if she refuses everything else.  Even if all she eats is bread for a couple days, or weeks, she will eventually eat something else!  I plan on using this advice when Sweet Potato decides that she only likes carbs, and I’m confident it will work.

Leave a Reply

